Exclusive: Justin shares his experience of winning the Bing contest

This is part 2 of our Exclusive interview with Photographer Justin Kraemer. His photo has been published on the Bing Homepage today. He took the photograph on March 29, 2009. The image portrays a unique view of Seattle. When thinking about Seattle one expects to see the mad rush and dreary weather but instead we see gorgeous buildings with an amazing view of the sky.

The buildings appear to be magical and are very disneyified. The Bing Homepage today looks like a clip from a Disney Fairytale. Justins image displays a great degree of eloquence and simplicity. It highlights the beauty of Seattle which is often ignored in the mad traffic rush. Justin in his interview with us shared his excitement over winning the Bing contest.

When asked to highlight the experience of winning the contest he stated, “The Bing contest was something I never expected to win. I saw the ad for the photo contest and figured I might as well enter a few just for fun. So I picked out four shots that I thought fit the theme of a “hometown” and submitted them. I pretty much forgot about the contest, and did not even vote while the first few rounds of voting were open. Then one day out of the blue I got an email from one of the people at Bing letting me know that one of my photos was selected as one of the 10 finalists and that I should tell my friends to vote. So I did, the first time I checked the standings, about an hour later, my photo was in 3rd place, the next time I checked, about an hour after that, my photo was in 1st and it stayed that way throughout the rest of the contest.”

The winning photograph

Written for and published on the Amvona Blog

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

