Exclusive: Interview with British Photographer Richard Hull Part 2

This is part 2 of the interview series with British Photographer Richard Hull. As stated in the previous post this interview will be published in a series of 4 entries on the Amvona Blog. I just found out that today is also Richards birthday. So here’s wishing Richard a very happy birthday from every one at Amvona. I first met Richard in London in 2008. At that time I wasn’t familiar with his photographic skills but knew that he was an avid car lover. A friend of mine always raved about his work but somehow I couldn’t really build the connection between an engineer and photography. I met him in New York earlier this year where a bunch of us went up to the Empire State building and I saw Richard take some amazing photographs. I have been following his work ever since. Not only are his photographic skills admirable but the precision with which he composes his pictures is also remarkable. He puts life into the simplest of objects and each of his photographs tells a story. His photograph of yellow cabs in New York, taken from the top of the Empire State building is one of my favorites.

His shots of the American landscape reflect the American culture and could almost be used to create a graphic novel or autobiography of how a tourist views America. Having said that, Richards photographs are by no means your every day touristy pictures. They have a class, a passion and a personality. They reflect the photographer behind them and show the world that dreams do come true. Richard is a self-taught photographer and yesterday he shared his story with Amvona.

“I first got interested in photography when I was seventeen. I got involved in a school music exchange trip to Texas and convinced my Dad to let me take his ageing Mamiya SLR. I knew nothing of ‘F numbers’ and ‘shutter speeds’, but I was undettered and shot through all the film I could find. When I got home the camera was returned to my dad undamaged, and my precious films got unpacked into a drawer where they remained forgotten and undeveloped. I didn’t pick up a camera again until a couple of years later when I was given a digital ‘bridge’ camera as a birthday gift. I read a bit, and played a lot, and so it wasn’t long before I bough another camera. Digital camera technology was moving so quickly, the compact I got took better quality, higher resolution images, but was small enough to live in my pocket. Another compact camera followed, but eventually I was seduced by the control afforded by a DSLR; and I haven’t looked back since. I did get those Texas pictures developed in the end, severalyears after the expiry date on the film. To my surprise (film noise aside) some of them were actually pretty decent…” His determination and ambition to learn photography eventually paid off and he is a very talented professional photographer today.

Keep a look out for our Part 3 and 4 tomorrow to get a full scope of our Q & A session with Richard.

Written for and published on the Amvona Blog

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

